Shoryudo refers to the area of nine prefectures in Chubu and Hokuriku. The shape of the Chubu and Hokuriku regions at the center of Japan resembles a rising dragon, with the Noto Peninsula forming its head and Mie Prefecture its tail, and its rising body covering every part of the nine Chubu and Hokuriku prefectures, giving this sightseeing destination its nickname of “Shoryudo” the “Dragon-rise Region.”